CENTRAL GAUTENG LIONS CANCELS ALL UPCOMING CRICKET MATCHES, PRACTICES AND POSTPONES ALL NON-CRICKET EVENTS BOOKED AT THE IMPERIAL WANDERERS STADIUM

Monday, 16 March 2020

Considering the Government of South Africa declaring the impact of COVID-19 a National State of Disaster as well as Cricket South Africa’s decision to terminate all forms of cricket matches for the next 60-days, Central Gauteng Lions (‘CGL’) has decided to immediately cancel all upcoming cricket matches, leagues, practices and postpone all booked non-cricket events to be held at the Imperial Wanderers Stadium.

This is inclusive of but not limited to:

  • All CGL managed club leagues and fixtures and all leagues played within its jurisdiction
  • All CGL school fixtures
  • All planned mini cricket activities, festivals, workshops and conferences
  • All CGL RPC and Hub programmes
  • All scheduled coaching forums
  • Any form of cricket played at or by an affiliated CGL member is prohibited

All non-cricket events scheduled to take place at the Imperial Wanderers Stadium have been postponed until further notice.

CGL Management has approved flexible staff working hours as well as remote working for certain staff members. While ensuring staff safety is of utmost importance, we as CGL need to ensure operational excellence and delivery is still maintained. We are fully aware that things are fluid now and may change at any moment, therefore will continually be adapting and addressing all matters daily.

Please feel free to contact the following people for more information:

Name & Surname Role Email Address Contact Number
Reuben Mandlazi CGL Cricket Services Manager reubenm@cricket.co.za 073 965 0855
Wanele Mngomezulu CGL Marketing & Communications Manager wanelem@cricket.co.za 063 940 8841
Sherina Desai CGL Club Cricket Administrator sherinas@cricket.co.za 076 468 7359
  Takatso Mkhwanazi CGL Girls & Women’s Administrator takatsom@cricket.co.za 079 494 0480
Gary Moos CGL Youth & Schools Administrator garym@cricket.co.za 063 501 3721
Bryan Patel CGL KFC Mini Cricket Coordinator bryanp@cricket.co.za 082 699 2441
Dumile Skade CGL Coaching Education Manager dumiles@cricket.co.za 061 484 0001
Cyril Martin CGL Stadium Manager cyrilm@cricket.co.za 083 212 1935
Vuyelwa Geza CGL Stadium Asst/ Events Coordinator vuyelwag@cricket.co.za 084 894 9739
Arlene Lewis CGL CEO – Personal Assistant arlenel@cricket.co.za 082 344 0291