Eldred Hawken, Ryan Rickelton and Joshua Richards were some of the young Lions who walked away with coveted prizes during the recent 2019/2020 Annual Lions Virtual Awards held on Thursday night.

Eldred Hawken scooped the Player of the Season and Player’s Player of the Season awards. Joshua Richards Newcomer of the Year award. Delano Potgieter taking the Most Improved Player of the Season award. Ryan Rickelton walked away with the Momentum One Day Cup Batsman of the Season award.

With eight Imperial Lions players called up for various Proteas national games during the tough 2019/2020 domestic season which was cut short by the Covid19 pandemic, these young Lions together with the Lions team defended the 4-Day Series Championship and were runners up to the Momentum One Day Cup.

“As the Lions family we are excited to nurture this young talent. We have always believed that Lions Cricket is the breeding ground for young aspiring talent in South Africa and if we look at how many of our players have gone on after school and university to represent teams at Franchise and International level, it certainly reflects the strength of the pipeline and the hard work by schools, clubs, universities, coaches, sponsors, fans and all stakeholders within Central Gauteng Lions and North West who make up the Lions family. Thank you to every role player for making the 2019/2020 season another memorable one and I am so excited to see the Lions brand roar again loudly in the new season ahead” commented Jono Leaf-Wright Lions Cricket CEO.

Nono Pongolo walked away with the Lions Favourite Fans Player of the Year and was nominated for the Covid19 Voluntary Service Award. This award goes to the player who went the extra mile during this Covid19 pandemic in terms of volunteering his time and service to reach out to communities hardest hit by the pandemic. Lions Cricket would like to thank everyone for their support throughout the lockdown period in giving up their time in support of adversely affected communities.

Temba Bavuma was awarded the Presidential Award called the ‘Order of the Lion Award’ for his strong leadership that he has demonstrated both on and off the field for the past few seasons.

On the field performance Lions Cricket Chairperson Anne Vilas said; “Watching him perform under extreme pressure across all formats was a marvel to witness. He definitely held his head high, kept his cool when he was sent back to the Lions during the season and was prepared to be led by Nicky and Aaron as interim 4-Day Series and Momentum One Day Cup captains respectively”.

Anne continued to say: “The work that Temba does with his foundation and many other off the field projects aimed at developing the game of cricket are some of the aspects that are considered when awarding the ‘Order of the Lions Award’.

“The award is in recognition of the exceptional services rendered to the contribution and development of cricket. The Order of The Lion is a symbol of Strength, Courage, Royalty and Stateliness.” concludes Vilas.

The 2019/2020 Annual Lions Awards winners were:

Player of the SeasonEldred Hawken
Player’s Player of the SeasonEldred Hawken
Presidential AwardTemba Bavuma
Newcomer of the YearJoshua Richards
Most Improved Cricketer of the SeasonDelano Potgieter
Fitness AwardsRyan Rickelton
4-Day Series Fielder of the YearNicky van den Bergh
4-Day Series Batsman of the SeasonReeza Hendricks
4-Day Series Bowler of the SeasonMalusi Siboto
Momentum One Day Cup Fielder of the YearWihan Lubbe
Momentum One Day Cup Batsman of the SeasonRyan Rickelton
Momentum One Day Cup Bowler of the SeasonAaron Phangiso
Covid19 Voluntary AwardNono Pongolo
Lions Favourite Fans AwardNono Pongolo
National RepresentativeKagiso Rabada Temba Bavuma Rassie van der Dussen Bjorn Fortuin Beuran Hendricks Reeza Hendricks Wiaan Mulder Dwaine Pretorius