Cricket South Africa (CSA), in conjunction with the eight top-tier provincial teams, is pleased to announce the final squads that will compete in Division 1 next season. 

The teams and their positioning in the new domestic cricket structure were finalised early last month when an Independent Evaluation Committee (IEC) revealed the look of the new South African cricket landscape following a bidding process that was open to all 15 unions. 

Boland, Central Gauteng Lions, Eastern Province, Free State, KwaZulu-Natal (Coastal), North West, Northerns and Western Province were the successful candidates during that process.  

“This is an exciting time for everyone involved in South African cricket as we look ahead to a new era that will start in 2021/22,” CSA Acting Chief Executive Officer, Pholetsi Moseki, stated.  

“At initial glance, the squads all look extremely well balanced and that can only bode well for everyone as we anticipate a strengthened domestic cricket system.” 

The squads themselves are highly impressive as some of the best talent has been spread across the country. 

The Imperial Lions were also double winners in 2020/21 and the new Central Gauteng based side too have opted to retain the bulk of the Lions group retaining 10 of the 16 previously contracted players. They have also added a host of local semi-pro players to their roster and have included in their side the signature of exciting and experienced fast bowler Duanne Olivier. 

CGL CEO Jono Leaf-Wright said: “We believe we have blended our squad well with experience and youth, the experience coming from those that served us and other teams so well over the years and the youth from our semi-pro ranks. We will continue to play as the Imperial Lions with our aim to be the Pride of Jozi and believe this contracted squad plus the many Protea players that represent us can certainly help us achieve that. We are certainly looking forward to building on the success of the franchise era and the trophies we won when this exciting new chapter of South African Domestic cricket begins in the coming months.”  

The full list of squads for the 2021/22 season is: 

KwaZulu-Natal (Coastal): Marques Ackerman, Ottneil Baartman, Eathan Bosch, Ruan de Swardt, Daryn Dupavillon, Sarel Erwee, Thamsanqa Khumalo, Kerwin Mungroo, Lifa Ntanzi, Thando Ntini, Bryce Parsons, Keegan Petersen, Grant Roelofsen, Jason Smith, Prenelan Subrayen, Khaya Zondo, Andile Phehlukway (national contract), David Miller (national contract), Keshav Maharaj (national contract). 

Central Gauteng Lions: Bjorn Fortuin, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Kagiso Rapulana, Ryan Rickleton. Joshua Richards, Sisanda Magala, Dominic Hendricks, Tladi Bokako, Malusi Siboto, Duanne Olivier, Ruan Haasbroek, Tshepo Ntuli, Mitchell van Buuren, Codi Yusuf,   Levert Manje, Kagiso Rabada (national contract), Rassie van der Dussen (national contract), Temba Bavuma (national contract), Reeza Hendricks (national contract). 

Boland: Janneman Malan, Pieter Malan, Hardus Viljoen, Is-maeel Gafieldien, Ferisco Adams, Siyabonga Mahima, Christiaan Jonker, Ruan Terblanche, Imraan Manack, Shaun von Berg, Michael Copeland, Zakhele Qwabe, Clyde Fortuin, Achille Cloete, Stiaan van Zyl, Ziyaad Abrahams, Kyle Abbott.

North West: Delano Potgieter, Lesego Senokwane, Nicky van den Bergh, Senuran Muthusamy, Nono Pongolo, Eldred Hawken, Heino Kuhn, Lwandiswa Zuma, Shaylen Pillay, Wesley Marshall, Ndumiso Mvelase, Eben Botha, Johannes Diseko, Duan Jansen, Chad Classen, Jason Oakes, Dwaine Pretorius (national contract). 

Eastern Province: Matthew Breetzke, Wihan Lubbe, Sinethemba Qeshile, Jon-Jon Smuts, Eddie Moore, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Rudi Second, Akhona Mnyaka, Lesiba Ngoepe, Diego Rosier, Tristan Stubbs, Dane Paterson, Kabelo Sekhukhune, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Tsepo Ndwandwa, Anrich Nortje (national contract). 

Northerns: Lizaad Williams, Okhule Cele, Theunis de Bruyn, Dayyaan Galiem, Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Neil Brand, Sibonelo Makhanya, Corbin Bosch, Aaron Phangiso, Chris Morris, Dewald Brevis, Ayabulela Gqamane, Jiveshen Pillay, Grant Mokoena, Simon Harmer, Aiden Markram (national contract), Lungi Ngidi (national contract), Quinton de Kock (national contract), Tabraiz Shamsi (national contract), Dean Elgar (national contract), Heinrich Klaasen (national contract).  

Free State: Mbulelo Budaza, Gerald Coetzee, Patrick Kruger, Wandile Makwetu, Migael Pretorius, Jacques Snyman, Pite van Biljon, Raynard van Tonder, Farhaan Behardien, Patrick Botha, Matthew Kleinveldt, Gregory Mohlokwana, Mangaliso Mosehle, Alfred Mothoa, Dilivio Ridgaard, Nealan van Heerden.  

Western Province: Zubayr Hamza, Kyle Verreynne, George Linde, Tony De Zorzi, Nandre Burger, Yaseen Vallie, Kyle Simmonds, Jonathan Bird, Hashim Amla, Mihlali Mpongwana, Tshepo Moreki, David Bedingham, Aviwe Mgijima, Vernon Philander, Basheer Walters, Wayne Parnell, Beuran Hendricks (national contract).